Jan 20, 2022  
2013-2014 Graduate Catalog 
2013-2014 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


211 Seaton Hall
Fax: 785-532-6722

Department Head:

Matthew Knox

Associate Head and Graduate Program Director:

R. Todd Gabbard

Academic Advisor:

G. Rebecca Stark

Graduate Faculty:

*Wayne M. Charney, Ph.D., Northwestern University
*Gary J. Coates, M.Arch., North Carolina State University
*Robert J. Condia, MS, Columbia University
Timothy de Noble, M. Arch., Syracuse University
Christopher Fein, M.Arch., Yale University
R. Todd Gabbard, M.Arch., University of Florida
Michael Gibson, M.Arch., Harvard University
Richard Hoag, M.Arch., University of Washington
Nathan J. Howe, M.Arch., University of Texas
James S. Jones, M.Arch., University of Washington
Matthew A. Knox, M.Arch., University of Virginia
Vladimir Krstic, M.Eng/Arch., Kyoto University, Japan
Michael McGlynn, M.Arch., University of Oregon
Peter Magyar, Dr.Arch., Technical University of Budapest, Hungary
Christine Marriott, Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology
Torgeir Norheim, M.Arch., California Polytechnic State University
Lyn Norris-Baker, (Emeritus) Ph.D., University of Houston
Wendy Ornelas, M. Arch., Oklahoma State University
David H. Sachs, D. Arch., University of Michigan
Pia Sarpaneva, Dip. Arch., Helsinki University of Technology
Aaron Schump, MS, Columbia University
*David R. Seamon, Ph.D., Clark University
Susanne Siepl-Coates, M.Arch., University of California, Berkeley
Dragoslav Simic, M.Arch., University of Belgrade, Yugoslavia
Raymond Streeter, M.Arch., Harvard University
Carol Martin Watts, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Donald Watts, M.Arch., University of California, Berkeley
Samuel Zeller, M.Arch., University of Michigan

*Denotes graduate faculty that are certified to serve as the major professor for doctoral students

Graduate Faculty Associates

Bruce McMillan, M. Arch., Kansas State University
Jill sornson Kurtz, M.A., Union University       


The Department of Architecture offers two degrees at the masters level: a NAAB-accredited five-year plus non-Baccalaureate professional Master of Architecture and a research based post-professional Master of Science in Architecture.

The M.ARCH program consists of a core of required professional courses supplemented by electives. The required courses include a ten semester architectural design studio sequence as well as structural systems, environmental systems, construction systems and computing sequences, among others.

The MS.Arch program of study requires a minimum of 30 semester credit hours for completion of the degree. The program usually requires two years in residence, and is designed to enable students to pursue specialized study in specific architectural topics.
Additional information about these two degrees is available from the links below.


College of Architecture and Design resources include the Paul Weigel Library, a professionally staffed branch of the university’s main facility. It includes over 35,000 bound volumes and approximately 200 periodical subscriptions. Among other facilities supporting instruction and research in the College are the Technical Information Collection, the Computer Laboratory, the Krider Audio-Visual Learning Resource Center, and an artificial sky. Students in the college enjoy a diverse range of lectures, seminars, exhibits, and guest critics throughout the academic year.


Master of Architecture

Master of Science