The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Kansas State University
  Jan 16, 2018
2017-2018 Graduate Catalog

Special Education, Counseling, and Student Affairs

369 Bluemont Hall
Fax: 532-7304

Department Chair:

Kenneth F. Hughey

Directors of Graduate Studies:

Kenneth F. Hughey (Academic Advising, Counseling & Student Development)
Warren J. White (Special Education)

Graduate Faculty:

*Doris Wright Carroll, Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Thomas Cioppa, Ph.D., U.S. Naval Postgraduate School
*Christy Craft, Ph.D., University of Arizona
*Mary Guindon, Ph.D., University of Virginia
Sheryl Hodge, Ph.D., University of Missouri-Kansas City
*Judith Hughey, Ed.D., University of Missouri
*Kenneth F. Hughey, Ph.D., University of Missouri
*Marilyn Kaff, Ph.D., University of Kansas
Elizabeth Knackendoffel, Ph.D., University of Kansas
Jessica Lane, Ph.D., Kansas State University
*Mickey Losinski, Ph.D., Clemson University
Charlie L. Nutt, Ed.D., Georgia Southern University
Richard Robbins, Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno
Camilla Roberts, Ph.D., Kansas State University
*Lisa Rubin, Ph.D., University of Nevada, Las Vegas
*James Teagarden, Ed.D., Kansas State University
*Wendy Troxel, Ed.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham
*Warren J. White, Ph.D., University of Kansas
Dan Wilcox, Ph.D., Michigan State University
*Yang (Lydia) Yang, Ph.D., Florida International University

*Denotes graduate faculty who are certified to serve as the major professor for doctoral students.

Graduate Faculty Associates:

Darrin Carr, Ph.D., Florida State University
Jennifer Joslin, Ph.D., University of Iowa
Darren Kelly, Ph.D., University of Texas
Dorothy Nelson, Ph.D., Louisiana State University
Terry Musser, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Emeritus Faculty:

Stephen Benton, Fred Bradley, William Cashin, Peggy Dettmer, Michael Holen, Herbert Kaiser, Margery Neely, Robert Newhouse, Fred Newton, Robert Ohlsen, Tom Parish, John Steffen, Linda Thurston, Mary Kay Zabel, Robert Zabel


For admission requirements, please see the College of Education  catalog page.


Doctor of Education

Doctor of Philosophy Emphasis Area(s)

Master of Science

Master of Science Emphasis Area(s)

Graduate Certificate


Counseling and Educational Psychology

Special Education

Page: 1 | 2